Two meals/one prep – marinated chicken

The past few weeks gave been chaotic. Nothing seems to be going according to plan these days and I have been late or messed up or simply forgotten so many things recently that I feel like hiding in my bed with a book and a cup of tea until the month is over.

Thank Heavens there are a few things that make my life easier, like when I can make two delicious meals out of one basic prep.

This is possible for a number of dishes.

This week, I marinated too much chicken breast in garlic, basil, lemon juice and olive oil. (We were expecting an extra person for dinner.)

No recipe here: cut your chicken into roughly finger-sized strips, pour over freshly-squeezed lemon juice, some olive oil, crush a couple of garlic cloves, shred a ton of fresh basil leaves on top and season with salt and pepper. Refrigerate.

lemon chicken 1 lemon chicken 2 lemon chicken 3

Meal 1: creamy lemon-basil chicken with fresh pasta

  • Heat a pan and cook the amount of marinated chicken needed. (No need to add oil, it’s already in the marinade.)
  • Optional: When hot, add a splash of white wine.
  • Five minutes before serving, add some liquid cream and a teaspoon of corn flour (dissolve this in a tablespoon of water first to avoid lumps.)
  • Make fresh pasta (Haha, if you think I made made my pasta this week, think again. I bought fresh pasta. Then I cooked it. It takes, like, 4 minutes.)
  • Voilà. Feed the masses.

You can also serve this with rice instead of pasta, or sauerkraut, or whatever.

Meal 2: stuffed courgettes

I had bought these lovely round courgettes at the market, but I didn’t have a plan. I decided to stuff them with the leftover (raw) marinated chicken.

Courgettes 1

  • Cut the top off the courgettes and scoop out the center with a spoon.
  • Lightly salt the cavity of the courgette.

Courgettes 2stuffed courgettes 1

  • Chop the pulp and toss in a frying pan with a drop of oil and salt and pepper.
  • Chop the marinated chicken.

stuffed courgettes 2stuffed courgettes 5

  • Combine the two to make stuffing.
  • Stuff the courgettes.
  • Sit them in a pot with a ladle of chicken stock.
  • Simmer for 30-40 minutes with the lid on. 

stuffed courgettes 6 

Before:stuffed courgettes 7 After:

stuffed courgettes 8

You can serve them on their own (veg + meat all in one), or with salad or crusty bread… I had some leftover rice, so I made fried rice with cashew nuts.

The prep took about 10 minutes.

stuffed courgettes 9_Fotor

Bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

