Accidental recipe: behold the Cauliflower Thingy!

My husband has been on a diet for a whole 36 hours and already he is insufferable.

Since yesterday, he has been eyeing up every mouthful, every morsel I put in my mouth. This is usually followed by a smirk or a mumbled criticism; sometimes a remark, straight from the hip, how that bit of banana muffin would stick in all the wrong places…

Needless to say, inspiration for meal that would pass the test of my newly-converted ascetic was nil. 

I had accidentally found myself saddled with two defrosted Flammeküche from Lidl that I had bought that afternoon… They were intended for a rainy day, a day when I could not be bothered to cook, but I had forgotten that the freezer was chock full and there they sat on the kitchen counter.

Problem: white flour, crème fraîche, lardons… (Not “light”.)

Solution: I gave them to the kids, with a plate of cucumber slices for a good conscience. (They squealed like it was Christmas.)

Floundering for ideas, I tried to reproduce, from memory, a recipe for roasted cauliflower with pomegranate I had seen on the wonderful food blog The Smitten Kitchen

I had no pomegranate and I couldn’t remember most of the recipe, so I improvised. And the result is a keeper!

What you need:

  • Cauliflower, cut into bit-sized florets (I used about 2/3, which was enough for 2 adults)
  • 2 onions, cut into thin wedges
  • Salt, pepper olive oil

Toss everything in a large bowl. Spread out on a baking tray and bake for 15 minutes at 250°C.

Transfer to a serving platter and top with chopped almonds (I took a handful from a bag of salted nuts – it’s all I had.) and a handful of fresh coriander, also chopped (OK, so mine was a bit on the wilted side. It was fine.)

Serve hot, warm or cold…

Sauce:

  • 1 Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 block of Feta
  • Pepper

Blitz in a blender and serve in a little dish to spoon over the cauliflower. There is something about this feta-yogurt… I’m not sure if it’s the texture or the slightly tangy acidity, but it really rocks my boat.

We ate this with a few slivers of smoked trout and half a glass of red wine. For two.

I “woke the dragon” by having seconds… but it tasted so good!

My son just ointed out that “Cauliflower Thingy” is not a very attractive term and I rather agree with him. If you have a better idea, by all means drop me a line in the comment box!

Leave a Reply

