Quick Leftover Stew Solution 

If you are like me, you don’t necessarily enjoy eating the same thing two days in a row. Having leftovers doesn’t have to be a pain, though, as there are many ways to transform them. 

One of our family favourites is the empanada, Maultasche, or stuffed pastry – I hesitate to call it a meat pie or patty, as I don’t always put meat in it. It works just as well with vegetable curry, salmon in dill cream sauce, or chili con queso

What you need is leftovers with a bit of sauce: Today it is last night’s guinea fowl that I had cooked with apples and quince with a white wine gravy. Looking at it when I took it out of the fridge – all congealed and depressing-looking – I had no urge to eat it. 

So I took my emergency store-bought, ready-to-roll puff pastry which I always keep handy in the refrigerator, and I spooned the cold, leftover stew on one half. Then I folded over the other to create a half-moon and sealed the edges with a fork and pricked a few holes in the top. 

   

 I suppose this is where I should have painted the pastry with egg yolk and crimped the edge of the pastry into Celtic knots and stuff, but remember… this was a quick solution, not Masterchef semi-finals. 

Bake for 40-50 minutes at 200 degrees C or until it looks right. The pastry should be brown and crispy all over.    

 This is completely artless, of course, but my boys act like it’s Christmas when I make one of these. (While they regularly turn up their noses at stew with spuds or rice… Go figure!)
PS: Sorry about the fuzzy photos. Must be the bad light in my kitchen. 

Leave a Reply

