Apple parsnip soup

Last week, I got rather a lot of root vegetables in my farm veg hamper: celery, spuds, beetroot, carrots and parsnips. With the temperatures being up in the T-shirt only range, I am having some trouble getting excited about tubers. I want leaves! So I had to find a solution that would suit my mood.

Parsnips are great sliced and roasted in a hot oven, drizzled with olive oil and sprinkled with fleur de sel. I love eating them with a plump, golden roast chicken, for example. I am home alone today, though, and not about to roast a chicken for one.

I had a root around (hehe)  my kitchen and found a couple of apples in need of attention. Inspiration comes in strange forms…

Capture d’écran 2016-03-31 à 14.44.07

What I had:

2 very large parsnips (big enough to classify as “blunt object” in a crime show)

2 apples

2 cloves of garlic

1 small onion

250ml white wine

stock cube, salt, pepper, curry powder

What I did:

  • Peel and chop parsnips and apples into half-inch cubes.
  • Peel and finely chop onion and garlic.
  • Fry the onion and garlic in a little butter.
  • Add the parsnip and apple and fry for 5 minutes.
  • Add 1 teaspoon of curry powder, a stock cube, salt and pepper.
  • Add the white wine and water to cover the vegetables.
  • Let simmer on medium heat for 30-40 minutes.
  • Mix until smooth and add water until you like the texture (At home, we fight: I like it thinner, Hubby likes it thicker…). Briefly bring to the boil.
  • Check seasoning.
  • The swirl of cream is optional.

The soup is delicious – savory, but with a little fruity tartness that really works well. I think making some garlicky croutons with salted butter to sprinkle on top would be the business. If you try it, let me know…

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

